New York Counties

New York, state of the United States of America. There are 61 county in New York. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Queens County
Queens County

Queens County, population 2,225,821

New York County

New York County, population 1,611,989

Suffolk County
Suffolk County

Suffolk County, population 1,474,273

New York State has 62 counties that vary greatly in size, population, and geography. Here's an overview of the counties in New York:

The 5 boroughs of New York City - New York County (Manhattan), Kings County (Brooklyn), Queens County (Queens), Bronx County (The Bronx), and Richmond County (Staten Island) - are the most densely populated counties in the state. These boroughs that make up New York City are coextensive with the county boundaries.

Outside of New York City, some of the more populous counties include Suffolk County on Long Island, Nassau County on Long Island, Westchester County north of NYC, and Erie County in western New York where Buffalo is located.

Upstate New York is more rural with a few small cities and towns spread out. Some of the larger upstate counties by population include Monroe County (Rochester metro area), Onondaga County (Syracuse metro area), Albany County (Albany metro area), and Broome County (Binghamton metro area).

Geographically, New York has coastal counties along the Atlantic Ocean and Lake Ontario, counties situated in the Hudson and Mohawk River valleys, the Finger Lakes region, the Catskill and Adirondack Mountains regions, and counties along the Saint Lawrence River and Great Lakes.

Some of the less populated counties in upstate New York include Hamilton County in the Adirondacks which has no incorporated villages, Essex County in the Adirondacks, Schuyler County in the Finger Lakes region, and Yates County in the Finger Lakes region.

So in summary, New York has a diverse range of counties in terms of population, geography, urbanization, and culture - from the massive New York City boroughs to rural farmland upstate and wilderness areas in the Adirondacks and Catskills. The county structure provides local government for the various regions across the state.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Albany County 303,654 Albany County cities
Allegany County 45,587 Allegany County cities
Bronx County 1,401,142 Bronx County cities
Broome County 189,420 Broome County cities
Cattaraugus County 75,863 Cattaraugus County cities
Cayuga County 76,029 Cayuga County cities
Chautauqua County 126,032 Chautauqua County cities
Chemung County 82,622 Chemung County cities
Chenango County 46,730 Chenango County cities
Clinton County 79,778 Clinton County cities
Columbia County 59,534 Columbia County cities
Cortland County 47,173 Cortland County cities
Delaware County 43,938 Delaware County cities
Dutchess County 293,293 Dutchess County cities
Erie County 917,241 Erie County cities
Essex County 36,891 Essex County cities
Franklin County 49,965 Franklin County cities
Fulton County 52,812 Fulton County cities
Genesee County 56,994 Genesee County cities
Greene County 47,177 Greene County cities
Hamilton County 4,345 Hamilton County cities
Herkimer County 60,945 Herkimer County cities
Jefferson County 108,095 Jefferson County cities
Lewis County 26,187 Lewis County cities
Livingston County 62,398 Livingston County cities
Madison County 70,478 Madison County cities
Monroe County 740,900 Monroe County cities
Montgomery County 49,170 Montgomery County cities
Nassau County 1,351,334 Nassau County cities
New York County 1,611,989 New York County cities
Niagara County 208,396 Niagara County cities
Oneida County 227,346 Oneida County cities
Onondaga County 459,214 Onondaga County cities
Ontario County 110,091 Ontario County cities
Orange County 385,234 Orange County cities
Orleans County 39,978 Orleans County cities
Oswego County 116,346 Oswego County cities
Otsego County 58,701 Otsego County cities
Putnam County 98,532 Putnam County cities
Queens County 2,225,821 Queens County cities
Rensselaer County 158,108 Rensselaer County cities
Richmond County 475,327 Richmond County cities
Rockland County 326,225 Rockland County cities
Saratoga County 230,298 Saratoga County cities
Schenectady County 155,358 Schenectady County cities
Schoharie County 31,132 Schoharie County cities
Schuyler County 17,685 Schuyler County cities
Seneca County 33,991 Seneca County cities
St. Lawrence County 111,007 St. Lawrence County cities
Steuben County 94,657 Steuben County cities
Suffolk County 1,474,273 Suffolk County cities
Sullivan County 75,802 Sullivan County cities
Tioga County 47,904 Tioga County cities
Tompkins County 101,058 Tompkins County cities
Ulster County 177,716 Ulster County cities
Warren County 63,756 Warren County cities
Washington County 60,606 Washington County cities
Wayne County 89,339 Wayne County cities
Westchester County 965,802 Westchester County cities
Wyoming County 39,465 Wyoming County cities
Yates County 24,780 Yates County cities

Counties on Map (61)