Cities & Towns in Franklin County, NY

Franklin County, county in New York, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 49,965 inhabitants. The county was created 216 years ago in 1808. Its county seat is Malone.

There are 16 city/town in Franklin County, NY. The largest city of Franklin County is Malone with a population of 14,103. Other cities include, Harrietstown population 5,423, Saranac Lake population 5,193, Tupper Lake population 3,431, Moira population 2,749


Malone, Town in New York, United States


Harrietstown, Town of the United States

Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake

Saranac Lake, Village in New York

Franklin County is located in northern New York along the Canadian border. The county seat is Malone. Here are some details on key Franklin County cities and towns:


  • With around 5,800 residents, Malone is the largest city in Franklin County
  • Home to the Franklin County Courthouse, an Art Deco building constructed in 1939
  • Hosts the annual Malone Fall Festival each September

Tupper Lake

  • This Adirondack village has a population of around 3,500
  • Known for its lumber and railroad history as well as natural beauty
  • Home to the Adirondack Sky Center and Observatory for stargazing

Saranac Lake

  • Village of around 5,300 residents situated in the Adirondack Mountains
  • Originally founded as a 19th century health resort
  • Known for winter sports like skiing and ice skating

Lake Placid

  • Town of around 2,400 people that hosted the 1980 and 1932 Winter Olympics
  • Surrounded by mountains, lakes, and winter sports facilities
  • Home to the Lake Placid Center for the Arts


  • Census-designated area along Upper Saranac Lake
  • Contains the hamlet of Saranac Lake, often grouped together as one community
  • Offers ample four-season outdoor recreation opportunities

In summary, Franklin County's villages showcase the natural beauty and pioneer spirit of New York's Adirondack region, with Malone acting as the county hub.

All Franklin County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Franklin County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bangor Town in the state of New York, USA 2,249
Bombay Town in New York, United States 1,282
Brushton Village in Franklin County, NY 430
Burke Town in Franklin County, New York, United States 1,484
Chateaugay Town in New York, United States 1,068
Constable Town in New York 1,576
Dickinson Town of the United States 798
Earlville Human settlement in New York, United States of America 796
Fort Covington Town in Franklin County, New York, United States 1,598
Harrietstown Town of the United States 5,423
Malone Town in New York, United States 14,103
Moira Human settlement in Franklin County, New York, United States of America 2,749
Santa Clara Village in New York 335
Saranac Lake Village in New York 5,193
Tupper Lake Village in New York, USA 3,431
Westville Town in New York, United States 1,816

County Cities on Map (16)

New York Counties (61)

Queens County (2,225,821) New York County (1,611,989) Suffolk County (1,474,273) Bronx County (1,401,142) Nassau County (1,351,334) Westchester County (965,802) Erie County (917,241) Monroe County (740,900) Richmond County (475,327) Onondaga County (459,214) Orange County (385,234) Rockland County (326,225) Albany County (303,654) Dutchess County (293,293) Saratoga County (230,298) Oneida County (227,346) Niagara County (208,396) Broome County (189,420) Ulster County (177,716) Rensselaer County (158,108) Schenectady County (155,358) Chautauqua County (126,032) Oswego County (116,346) St. Lawrence County (111,007) Ontario County (110,091) Jefferson County (108,095) Tompkins County (101,058) Putnam County (98,532) Steuben County (94,657) Wayne County (89,339) Chemung County (82,622) Clinton County (79,778) Cayuga County (76,029) Cattaraugus County (75,863) Sullivan County (75,802) Madison County (70,478) Warren County (63,756) Livingston County (62,398) Herkimer County (60,945) Washington County (60,606) Columbia County (59,534) Otsego County (58,701) Genesee County (56,994) Fulton County (52,812) Franklin County (49,965) Montgomery County (49,170) Tioga County (47,904) Greene County (47,177) Cortland County (47,173) Chenango County (46,730) Allegany County (45,587) Delaware County (43,938) Orleans County (39,978) Wyoming County (39,465) Essex County (36,891) Seneca County (33,991) Schoharie County (31,132) Lewis County (26,187) Yates County (24,780) Schuyler County (17,685) Hamilton County (4,345)