Cities & Towns in Montgomery County, NY

Montgomery County, county in New York, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 49,170 inhabitants. The county was created 252 years ago in 1772. Its county seat is Fonda.

There are 13 city/town in Montgomery County, NY. The largest city of Montgomery County is Amsterdam with a population of 17,711. Other cities include, Saint Johnsville population 2,514, Glen population 2,443, Fort Plain population 2,218, Canajoharie population 2,126


Amsterdam, Town in Montgomery County, New York

Saint Johnsville

Saint Johnsville, Mine in Montgomery County, New York, United States of America


Glen, Town in New York, USA

Montgomery County is located in central New York along the Mohawk River. The county seat is Fonda. Here are some details on Montgomery County's cities and towns:


  • With over 17,000 residents, Amsterdam is the largest city in Montgomery County
  • Home to the Amsterdam Castle, a former armory building constructed in 1885
  • Hosts events like the annual Amsterdam Summer Festival


  • County seat with around 700 residents, incorporated in 1828
  • Site of the historic Fonda Speedway dirt track since 1953
  • Home to the Montgomery County Courthouse and Fonda Museum


  • Village of around 2,300 residents located along the Erie Canal
  • Known for its historic architecture and Beech-Nut baby food plant
  • Home to the Arkell Museum and Canajoharie Library

Fort Plain

  • Small village of around 2,000 residents founded in 1775
  • Site of Revolutionary War battles with monuments and museums
  • Hosts an annual Canal Days summer festival

St. Johnsville

  • Rural village of around 1,700 residents first settled in 1770
  • Home to the National Knockdown Horse Pulling Championships
  • Includes Old St. John's Cemetery with graves dating to 1750

In summary, Montgomery County reveals the history and small town charm of New York's Mohawk Valley, with Amsterdam being the main population center.

All Montgomery County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Montgomery County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Ames Village in Montgomery County, New York, United States 139
Amsterdam Town in Montgomery County, New York 17,711
Canajoharie Town in New York, USA 2,126
Charleston Town in Montgomery County, New York 1,318
Fonda Human settlement in Mohawk, New York, United States of America 750
Fort Johnson Village in New York, United States 463
Fort Plain City in Minden, New York, United States of America 2,218
Fultonville Human settlement in Montgomery County, New York, United States of America 780
Glen Town in New York, USA 2,443
Hagaman City in Montgomery County, New York, United States of America 1,263
Nelliston Village in New York, USA 568
Palatine Bridge Village in Montgomery County, New York, United States 754
Saint Johnsville Mine in Montgomery County, New York, United States of America 2,514

County Cities on Map (13)

New York Counties (61)

Queens County (2,225,821) New York County (1,611,989) Suffolk County (1,474,273) Bronx County (1,401,142) Nassau County (1,351,334) Westchester County (965,802) Erie County (917,241) Monroe County (740,900) Richmond County (475,327) Onondaga County (459,214) Orange County (385,234) Rockland County (326,225) Albany County (303,654) Dutchess County (293,293) Saratoga County (230,298) Oneida County (227,346) Niagara County (208,396) Broome County (189,420) Ulster County (177,716) Rensselaer County (158,108) Schenectady County (155,358) Chautauqua County (126,032) Oswego County (116,346) St. Lawrence County (111,007) Ontario County (110,091) Jefferson County (108,095) Tompkins County (101,058) Putnam County (98,532) Steuben County (94,657) Wayne County (89,339) Chemung County (82,622) Clinton County (79,778) Cayuga County (76,029) Cattaraugus County (75,863) Sullivan County (75,802) Madison County (70,478) Warren County (63,756) Livingston County (62,398) Herkimer County (60,945) Washington County (60,606) Columbia County (59,534) Otsego County (58,701) Genesee County (56,994) Fulton County (52,812) Franklin County (49,965) Montgomery County (49,170) Tioga County (47,904) Greene County (47,177) Cortland County (47,173) Chenango County (46,730) Allegany County (45,587) Delaware County (43,938) Orleans County (39,978) Wyoming County (39,465) Essex County (36,891) Seneca County (33,991) Schoharie County (31,132) Lewis County (26,187) Yates County (24,780) Schuyler County (17,685) Hamilton County (4,345)