Smith County, Tennessee

Smith County: County in Tennessee, United States


Smith County is a county located in the U.S. state of Tennessee. As of the 2010 census, the population was 19,166 and a population density of 23 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 20,285 inhabitants. Its county seat is Carthage. The county was created 223 years ago in 1799.

Quick Facts about Smith County

Population : 20,285 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Tennessee (United States)
Different from : Smith County, Smith County, Smith County, Smyth County
Area : 843 km2
Water as percent of area : 3.4%
Land as percent of area : 96.6%
Named for : Daniel Smith
Capital : Carthage
Establishment : October 10, 1799
Time Zone : Central Time Zone
Local time : 05:36:25 (3rd December 2022)
Density : 24 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 5.52% (2010-2020)
Smith County locator map
Location of Smith County on Tennessee map.
Smith-county-courthouse-tn1 image
Smith-county-courthouse-tn1 image


Smith County is located at 36°15'2"N 85°57'24"W (36.2505300, -85.9567100). It has 6 neighbors: DeKalb County, Jackson County, Macon County, Putnam County, Trousdale County and Wilson County.

Smith County map

Smith County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Smith County.

City Name Population Title
Carthage 2,331 Town in Tennessee, USA
South Carthage 1,406 Town in Smith County, Tennessee, United States
Gordonsville 1,245 Town in Smith County, Tennessee, United States

Smith County has 6 neighbours.

  • Carthage


The population of Smith County increased by 5.52% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 19,166 - census
2011 19,210 0.23% estimation process
2012 19,179 -0.16% estimation process
2013 19,117 -0.32% estimation process
2014 19,097 -0.1% estimation process
2015 19,308 1.09% estimation process
2016 19,526 1.12% estimation process
2017 19,732 1.04% estimation process
2018 19,979 1.24% estimation process
2019 20,157 0.88% estimation process
2020 20,285 0.63% estimation process

Comitatul Smith, Comte de Smith, Comté de Smith, Condado de Smith, Condado han Smith, Contea di Smith, Hrabstwo Smith, Okrug Smit, Quan Smith, Quận Smith, Smit, Smith, Smith Comitatus, Smith Kun, Smith Kūn, Smith konderria, Smith megye, shhrstan asmyt tnsy, shi mi si xian, smitha ka'unti, sumisu jun, Округ Смит, Смит, Сміт, Սմիթ շրջան, سمتھ کاؤنٹی, سمتھ کاؤنٹی، ٹینیسی, شهرستان اسمیت، تنسی, স্মিথ কাউন্টি, スミス郡, 史密斯縣

People born in Smith County (14)

People born in Smith County, including politician Morgan Cassius Fitzpatrick, politician Hopkins L. Turney, politician Hugh French Thomason, .


  • John Daniel Clardy (American politician (1828-1918)) he was born in 30/08/1828
  • John Hailey (American politician (1835-1921)) he was born in 29/08/1835
  • William Henry DeWitt (American politician (1827-1896)) he was born in 24/10/1827
  • Samuel McClary Fite (American politician) he was born in 12/06/1816
  • John Henry Moore (American settler) he was born in 13/08/1800
  • John T. Coffee (American politician) he was born in 14/12/1816
  • Nathaniel Macon Burford (Confederate Army officer, judge) he was born in 24/06/1824
  • William E. McLellin (American Latter Day Saint leader) he was born in 18/01/1806
  • Julius C. Moreland (American judge (1844-1918)) he was born in 01/06/1844
  • Thomas W. Beasley (American lawyer, political activist and businessman based in Tennessee; former chairman of the Tennessee Republican Party, co-founder of the Corrections Corporation of America (private prison management company)) he was born in 08/01/1943
  • Rufus L. Perry he was born in 11/03/1834

Other places with the same name (4)

Tennessee Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Shelby County 936,017 County in Tennessee, United States
Davidson County 694,176 County in Tennessee, United States
Nashville 684,410 Consolidated city-county in Davidson County, Tennessee, United States, and the state capital of Tennessee
Memphis 649,705 County seat of Shelby County, Tennessee, United States
New South Memphis 641,608 City in United States of America
Knox County 475,609 County in Maine, United States
Hamilton County 371,662 County in Tennessee, United States
Rutherford County 339,261 County in North Carolina, United States
Williamson County 245,348 County in Tennessee, United States
Montgomery County 214,251 County in Tennessee, United States
Sumner County 195,561 County in Tennessee, United States
Knoxville 190,223 County seat of Knox County, Tennessee, United States; third-largest city in Tennessee
Chattanooga 184,742 City in and county seat of Hamilton County, Tennessee, United States
Clarksville 161,247 City in Tennessee
Sullivan County 158,755 County in New York, United States
East Chattanooga 154,024 City in Hamilton County, Tennessee, United States of America