Routt County , Colorado

Routt County: County in Colorado, United States

Routt County locator map
Location of Routt County on Colorado map.


Routt County is a county located in the U.S. state of Colorado. As of the 2010 census, the population was 23,509 and a population density of 4 people per km². After 9 years in 2019 county had an estimated population of 25,638 inhabitants. Its county seat is Steamboat Springs. The county was created 144 years ago in 1877.


Routt County is located at 40°29'6"N 106°59'28"W (40.4850700, -106.9911900). It has 2 neighbors: Carbon County and Jackson County.

Routt County  Colorado image
Routt County Colorado

The largest city of Routt County is Steamboat Springs with a population of 13,214. Other cities include, Oak Creek population 959 and Yampa population 464. See all Routt County cities & populated places.

Routt County  Colorado image

Routt County map

Routt County Quick Facts

Population : 25,638 (2019)
Country : United States of America
State : Colorado (United States)
Twitter username : routt_countyco
Area : 6133 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.3%
Land as percent of area : 99.7%
Named for : John Long Routt
Altitude : 6,683 feet / 2037 meters
Capital : Steamboat Springs
Establishment : January 01, 1877
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 08:03:35 (14th June 2021)
Density : 4 Pop. per km² as of 2019
Population growth : 8.3% (2010-2019)

Routt County has 2 neighbours.


The population of Routt County increased by 8.3% in 9 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 23,509 - census
2011 23,252 -1.11% estimation process
2012 23,272 0.09% estimation process
2013 23,599 1.39% estimation process
2014 24,067 1.94% estimation process
2015 24,360 1.2% estimation process
2016 24,682 1.3% estimation process
2017 25,171 1.94% estimation process
2018 25,507 1.32% estimation process
2019 25,638 0.51% estimation process

Comitatul Routt, Comte de Routt, Comté de Routt, Condado de Routt, Condado han Routt, Contea di Routt, Hrabstwo Routt, Okrug Raut, Quan Routt, Quận Routt, Raut, Routt, Routt Kun, Routt Kūn, Routt konderria, Routt megye, Routti maakond, Rut srjan, lu te xian, mqatʿt rwt, rauto jun, rautta ka'unti, shhrstan rwt klradw, Округ Раут, Раут, Роутт, Ռուտ շրջան, راؤٹ کاؤنٹی, راوٹ کاؤنٹی، کولوراڈو, شهرستان روت، کلرادو, مقاطعة روت, রৌট্ট কাউন্টি, ラウト郡, 魯特縣

Routt County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Routt County.

City Name Population Title
Steamboat Springs 13,214 County seat city in Routt County, Colorado, USA
Hayden 1,979 Town in Colorado, USA
Oak Creek 959 Stream in Colorado, USA
Yampa 464 Human settlement in Routt County, Colorado, United States of America

Colorado Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Colorado 5,758,736 State of the United States of America
Denver 727,211 Capital city of the state of Colorado, United States; consolidated city and county
Denver County 727,211 County in Colorado, United States, coterminous with the City of Denver
El Paso County 720,403 One of the 64 counties in the U.
Arapahoe County 656,590 County in Colorado, United States
Jefferson County 582,881 County in Colorado, United States
Adams County 517,421 County in Colorado, United States
Colorado Springs 478,221 County seat of El Paso County, Colorado, United States
Aurora 379,289 City in Kane County, Illinois, United States
Larimer County 356,899 County in Colorado, United States
Douglas County 351,154 County in Colorado, United States
Boulder County 326,196 County in Colorado, United States
Weld County 324,492 County in Colorado, United States
Fort Collins 170,243 Municipality and county seat of Larimer County, Colorado, United States
Pueblo County 168,424 County in Colorado, United States
Lakewood 157,935 City in Colorado

Next page