Rawlins County, Kansas

Rawlins County: County in Kansas, United States


Rawlins County is a county located in the U.S. state of Kansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 2,519 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 2,511 inhabitants. Its county seat is Atwood. The county was created 149 years ago in 1873.

Quick Facts about Rawlins County

Population : 2,511 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Kansas (United States)
Area : 2771 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.01%
Land as percent of area : 99.99%
Named for : John Aaron Rawlins
Altitude : 3,064 feet / 934 meters
Capital : Atwood
Establishment : March 03, 1873
Time Zone : Central Time Zone
Local time : 20:39:40 (30th June 2022)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -0.32% (2010-2020)
Rawlins County locator map
Location of Rawlins County on Kansas map.
Rawlin Co KS Courthouse image
Rawlin Co KS Courthouse
Rawlin Co KS Courthouse image


Rawlins County is located at 39°47'7"N 101°4'33"W (39.7852400, -101.0757100). It has 6 neighbors: Cheyenne County, Decatur County, Thomas County, Dundy County, Hitchcock County and Red Willow County.

Rawlins County map

The largest city of Rawlins County is Atwood with a population of 1,208. Other cities include, McDonald population 156, Herndon population 129 and Achilles population 46. See all Rawlins County cities & populated places.

Rawlins County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Rawlins County.

City Name Population Title
Atwood 1,208 City in Rawlins County, Kansas, United States
McDonald 156 City in Kansas, USA
Herndon 129 City in Kansas, United States
Ludell 79 Township in Rawlins County, Kansas
Achilles 46 Human settlement in Rawlins County, Kansas, United States of America

Rawlins County has 6 neighbours.

  • Atwood


According to census records, the population of Rawlins County decreased by 0.32% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 2,519 - census
2011 2,508 -0.44% estimation process
2012 2,509 0.04% estimation process
2013 2,563 2.11% estimation process
2014 2,543 -0.79% estimation process
2015 2,506 -1.48% estimation process
2016 2,500 -0.24% estimation process
2017 2,473 -1.09% estimation process
2018 2,502 1.16% estimation process
2019 2,530 1.11% estimation process
2020 2,511 -0.76% estimation process

Comitatul Rawlins, Comte de Rawlins, Comté de Rawlins, Condado de Rawlins, Condado han Rawlins, Contea di Rawlins, Hrabstwo Rawlins, Okrug Rolins, Quan Rawlins, Quận Rawlins, Rawlins, Rawlins Comitatus, Rawlins Kun, Rawlins Kūn, Rawlins konderria, Rawlins megye, Rolins, Roulins srjan, luo lin si xian, mqatʿt rwlnz, raulinsa ka'unti, rorinzu jun, shhrstan rawlynz kanzas, Округ Ролинс, Ролинс, Ролінс, Ռոուլինս շրջան, رالینز کاؤنٹی، کنساس, شهرستان راولینز، کانزاس, مقاطعة رولنز, রৌলিন্স কাউন্টি, ローリンズ郡, 羅林斯縣

Kansas Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Johnson County 607,220 County in Wyoming, United States
Sedgwick County 519,907 County in Kansas, United States
Wichita 391,731 County seat of Sedgwick County, Kansas, United States
Overland Park 197,381 City in the U.
Shawnee County 175,999 County in Kansas, United States
Wyandotte County 165,265 County in Kansas, United States
Kansas City 152,960 County seat of Wyandotte County, Kansas, United States
Douglas County 122,530 County in Kansas, United States
Leavenworth County 82,246 County in Kansas, United States
Riley County 73,202 County in Kansas, United States
Butler County 66,992 County in Kansas, United States of America
Shawnee 66,298 City in Oklahoma, United States
Reno County 61,793 County in Kansas, United States
Lenexa 56,156 City in Kansas, United States
Saline County 53,926 County in Kansas, United States
Salina 46,274 City in and the county seat of Saline County, Kansas, United States