Cities & Towns in Philadelphia County, PA

Philadelphia County, county in Pennsylvania, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 1,578,487 inhabitants. The county was created 342 years ago in 1682. Its county seat is Philadelphia.

There are 6 city/town in Philadelphia County, PA. The largest city of Philadelphia County is Philadelphia with a population of 1,578,487. Other cities include, Center City population 57,239, Whitman population 49,732, Richmond population 2,269, Tioga population 642


Philadelphia, The sixth most populous city in the United States and the center of the Philadelphia metropolitan area.

Center City
Center City

Center City, Neighborhood of Philadelphia, PA


Whitman, A borough in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania.

As one of the most densely populated urban counties in the United States, Philadelphia County is dominated by its namesake city of Philadelphia. As the county seat, Philadelphia serves as the economic and cultural center for the surrounding metropolitan area. However, Philadelphia County does contain other smaller municipalities, neighborhoods, and communities that each contribute their own identity.

Some of the most notable areas within Philadelphia County beyond downtown Philadelphia include Manayunk, East Falls, Chestnut Hill, West Philadelphia, and South Philadelphia. Manayunk is known for its bustling Main Street and canal towpath. East Falls contains historic colonial estates and a campus of Jefferson University. Chestnut Hill boasts stately mansions and a quaint commercial district. West Philadelphia includes University City and Clark Park. And South Philly provides an immersive Italian Market and cheesesteak shops.

Philadelphia County is a county in the southeastern part of Pennsylvania, located in the Philadelphia metropolitan area. It is the most populous county in Pennsylvania and the 24th-most populous county in the nation, with 1,603,797 residents as of 2020. Its county seat and largest city is Philadelphia, the nation’s sixth-largest city and the birthplace of American democracy. Philadelphia County is one of the three original counties, along with Chester and Bucks counties, founded by William Penn in November 1682. Philadelphia County has 31 incorporated cities and towns, each with its own charm and history. Here are some of the highlights of each city and town:

  • Philadelphia: The largest and most populous city in the county and the state, with a population of 1,708,127. It is located on the banks of the Delaware and Schuylkill rivers, near the border with New Jersey. It is a center of culture, commerce, education, and sports, hosting many museums, theaters, festivals, and professional teams. It also has a vibrant downtown area with skyscrapers, restaurants, and nightlife.
  • Bensalem Township: The second-largest township in the county and the 12th-largest in the state, with a population of 60,491. It is located northeast of Philadelphia, on the border with Bucks County. It is a suburban and diverse community, offering many amenities and attractions such as the Parx Casino and Racing, the Neshaminy Mall, and the Bensalem Historical Society.
  • Lower Merion Township: The third-largest township in the county and the 13th-largest in the state, with a population of 58,288. It is located west of Philadelphia, on the border with Montgomery County. It is an affluent and historic community, featuring many mansions and landmarks such as the Ardmore Music Hall, the Merion Golf Club, and the Lower Merion Synagogue.

Additionally, Philadelphia County includes portions of the Wissahickon Valley Park System and FDR Park as well as the communities of Lower Merion, Upper Darby, and Cheltenham along the county line. Though small in area, Philadelphia County comprises a city of vibrant, diverse neighborhoods beyond just the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall.

All Philadelphia County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Philadelphia County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Center City Neighborhood of Philadelphia, PA 57,239
Philadelphia The sixth most populous city in the United States and the center of the Philadelphia metropolitan area. 1,578,487
Richmond District in Pennsylvania, United States of America 2,269
Tioga Borough of Pennsylvania 642
Wharton City in Pennsylvania, United States of America 93
Whitman A borough in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania. 49,732

County Cities on Map (6)

Pennsylvania Counties (67)

Philadelphia County (1,578,487) Allegheny County (1,211,358) Montgomery County (833,869) Bucks County (627,987) Delaware County (566,753) Lancaster County (546,192) Chester County (526,759) York County (450,448) Berks County (421,017) Lehigh County (370,802) Westmoreland County (347,087) Luzerne County (316,982) Northampton County (305,892) Dauphin County (279,874) Erie County (268,426) Cumberland County (255,857) Lackawanna County (208,989) Washington County (206,803) Butler County (189,135) Monroe County (170,154) Beaver County (162,575) Centre County (161,496) Franklin County (155,637) Lebanon County (141,663) Schuylkill County (140,709) Cambria County (128,672) Fayette County (128,126) Blair County (121,007) Lycoming County (113,209) Mercer County (108,545) Adams County (102,742) Northumberland County (90,258) Lawrence County (85,083) Crawford County (83,697) Indiana County (83,664) Clearfield County (78,612) Somerset County (72,916) Columbia County (64,842) Armstrong County (64,162) Carbon County (64,081) Bradford County (60,221) Pike County (56,072) Wayne County (51,163) Venango County (50,328) Bedford County (47,817) Perry County (46,212) Mifflin County (46,064) Huntingdon County (44,590) Union County (44,294) Jefferson County (43,108) Tioga County (40,381) McKean County (40,333) Snyder County (40,317) Susquehanna County (40,006) Warren County (38,911) Clarion County (38,305) Clinton County (37,957) Greene County (35,621) Elk County (29,607) Wyoming County (26,557) Juniata County (24,619) Montour County (18,042) Potter County (16,453) Fulton County (14,501) Forest County (6,965) Sullivan County (5,913) Cameron County (4,330)