Cities & Towns in Gordon County, GA

Gordon County, county in Georgia, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 58,780 inhabitants. The county was created 174 years ago in 1850. Its county seat is Calhoun.

There are 5 city/town in Gordon County, GA. The largest city of Gordon County is Calhoun with a population of 17,572. Other cities include, Resaca population 1,089, Fairmount population 743, Plainville population 322 and Ranger population 137


Calhoun, City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States


Resaca, City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States of America


Fairmount, City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States

Gordon County is located in northwestern Georgia, about an hour's drive from Atlanta. The county has a population of around 57,000 residents. Here are some of the most notable cities and towns in Gordon County:


Calhoun is the largest city and county seat of Gordon County with around 16,000 residents. It is home to Georgia Northwestern Technical College and historic landmarks like the Curtis Covered Bridge. The Calhoun Downtown Business Association works to revitalize the area.


Fairmount is a small city west of Calhoun with around 900 residents. It originated as a mining town in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. Historic buildings line Main Street including Fairmount City Hall and Fairmount High School.


Ranger is an unincorporated town in southern Gordon County known for its arts scene. It has around 300 residents. The historic Ranger Hotel c. 1909 anchors downtown along with antique shops and galleries.


Plainville is a small city located southeast of Calhoun with around 550 residents. It hosts the annual Plainville Pickin' arts and crafts festival. Nearby is the Etowah Indian Mounds State Historic Site containing Native American mounds.


Resaca is a town situated along the Oostanaula River with around 900 residents. It saw Civil War battles and has historic markers at the Resaca Confederate Cemetery. The annual Battle of Resaca reenactment remembers this history.

Gordon County has a fascinating blend of small town charm, Appalachian heritage, and Civil War history.

All Gordon County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Gordon County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Calhoun City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States 17,572
Fairmount City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States 743
Plainville City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States 322
Ranger Town in Gordon County, Georgia, United States 137
Resaca City in Gordon County, Georgia, United States of America 1,089

County Cities on Map (5)

Georgia Counties (159)

Fulton County (1,077,402) Gwinnett County (942,627) Cobb County (762,944) DeKalb County (762,009) Clayton County (292,646) Chatham County (289,463) Cherokee County (265,274) Forsyth County (250,847) Henry County (239,139) Hall County (206,591) Richmond County (202,079) Muscogee County (196,442) Paulding County (173,359) Columbia County (160,377) Houston County (160,110) Bibb County (152,737) Coweta County (150,849) Douglas County (147,988) Clarke County (127,795) Carroll County (121,633) Lowndes County (118,268) Fayette County (115,821) Newton County (113,295) Bartow County (109,426) Whitfield County (103,837) Floyd County (98,604) Walton County (96,875) Rockdale County (90,939) Dougherty County (86,477) Barrow County (85,588) Glynn County (85,568) Bulloch County (80,839) Jackson County (76,199) Troup County (70,214) Walker County (70,116) Catoosa County (67,996) Spalding County (67,414) Effingham County (65,765) Liberty County (63,004) Gordon County (58,780) Camden County (55,388) Laurens County (47,512) Habersham County (46,047) Colquitt County (45,542) Baldwin County (45,099) Thomas County (44,372) Coffee County (43,218) Polk County (42,840) Oconee County (41,124) Bryan County (40,755) Tift County (40,719) Murray County (40,032) Harris County (36,080) Ware County (35,826) Lumpkin County (34,186) Pickens County (33,127) Gilmer County (31,978) White County (31,094) Madison County (30,457) Haralson County (30,383) Lee County (30,234) Wayne County (30,023) Sumter County (29,282) Jones County (28,787) Monroe County (28,042) Peach County (27,950) Dawson County (27,113) Toombs County (26,973) Upson County (26,527) Fannin County (26,521) Decatur County (26,457) Hart County (26,406) Stephens County (26,107) Butts County (25,426) Tattnall County (25,365) Union County (25,358) Chattooga County (24,843) Grady County (24,491) Franklin County (23,504) Burke County (22,648) Putnam County (22,520) Emanuel County (22,507) Crisp County (22,034) Mitchell County (21,602) Meriwether County (21,164) McDuffie County (21,162) Dodge County (20,452) Long County (20,171) Washington County (20,150) Worth County (19,972) Morgan County (19,636) Pierce County (19,522) Berrien County (19,408) Banks County (19,352) Elbert County (19,335) Lamar County (19,261) Brantley County (19,202) Pike County (19,121) Greene County (18,837) Appling County (18,325) Cook County (17,291) Rabun County (17,273) Ben Hill County (16,614) Dade County (16,057) Telfair County (15,781) Oglethorpe County (15,383) Brooks County (15,357) Jefferson County (15,267) Jeff Davis County (15,213) Jasper County (14,483) McIntosh County (14,387) Screven County (14,012) Charlton County (13,430) Dooly County (13,174) Bleckley County (12,955) Macon County (12,712) Towns County (12,247) Crawford County (12,231) Heard County (11,973) Pulaski County (11,191) Bacon County (11,036) Candler County (10,985) Lanier County (10,737) Evans County (10,638) Chattahoochee County (10,551) Early County (10,037) Wilkes County (9,694) Johnson County (9,667) Irwin County (9,387) Montgomery County (9,012) Wilkinson County (8,812) Jenkins County (8,746) Terrell County (8,523) Marion County (8,516) Wilcox County (8,502) Hancock County (8,494) Atkinson County (8,393) Twiggs County (8,103) Taylor County (8,074) Seminole County (8,060) Lincoln County (8,031) Turner County (7,882) Wheeler County (7,751) Treutlen County (6,822) Stewart County (6,689) Randolph County (6,682) Clinch County (6,582) Calhoun County (6,231) Talbot County (6,143) Miller County (5,622) Warren County (5,232) Schley County (5,196) Echols County (4,002) Glascock County (2,984) Baker County (2,971) Clay County (2,866) Webster County (2,595) Quitman County (2,271) Taliaferro County (1,562)