Baca County, Colorado

Baca County: County in Colorado, United States


Baca County is a county located in the U.S. state of Colorado. As of the 2010 census, the population was 3,788 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 3,555 inhabitants. Its county seat is Springfield. The county was created 133 years ago in 1889.

Quick Facts about Baca County

Population : 3,555 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Colorado (United States)
Area : 6623 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.09%
Land as percent of area : 99.91%
Altitude : 4,327 feet / 1319 meters
Capital : Springfield
Establishment : April 04, 1889
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 17:37:40 (5th February 2023)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -6.55% (2010-2020)
Baca County locator map
Location of Baca County on Colorado map.
Baca County Courthouse image
Baca County Courthouse
Baca County Courthouse image


Baca County is located at 37°19'9"N 102°33'38"W (37.3191800, -102.5604700). It has 7 neighbors: Bent County, Las Animas County, Prowers County, Morton County, Stanton County, Union County and Cimarron County.

Baca County map

The largest city of Baca County is Walsh with a population of 513. Other cities include, Pritchett population 130 and Campo population 102. See all Baca County cities & populated places.

Baca County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Baca County.

City Name Population Title
Springfield 1,364 Statutory Town in Baca County, Colorado
Walsh 513 Human settlement in Baca County, Colorado, United States of America
Pritchett 130 Human settlement in Baca County, Colorado, United States of America
Vilas 106 Town of the United States
Campo 102 Colorado
Two Buttes 40 Statutory town in Colorado

Baca County has 7 neighbours.


According to census records, the population of Baca County decreased by 6.55% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 3,788 - census
2011 3,778 -0.26% estimation process
2012 3,722 -1.5% estimation process
2013 3,656 -1.81% estimation process
2014 3,587 -1.92% estimation process
2015 3,555 -0.9% estimation process
2016 3,530 -0.71% estimation process
2017 3,554 0.68% estimation process
2018 3,584 0.84% estimation process
2019 3,581 -0.08% estimation process
2020 3,555 -0.73% estimation process

Baca, Baca Kun, Baca Kūn, Baca konderria, Baca maakond, Baca megye, Baka, Baka srjan, Comitatul Baca, Comtat de Baca, Comte de Baca, Comté de Baca, Condado de Baca, Condado han Baca, Contea di Baca, Hrabstwo Baca, Okrug Baka, Quan Baca, Quận Baca, ba ka xian, baka jun, baka ka'unti, mqatʿt baka, Бака, Округ Бака, Բակա շրջան, باچا کاؤنٹی, بیکا کاؤنٹی، کولوراڈو, مقاطعة باكا, বাকা কাউন্টি, バカ郡, 巴卡縣

Colorado Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Denver 735,538 Capital city of the state of Colorado, United States; consolidated city and county
Denver County 735,538 County in Colorado, United States, coterminous with the City of Denver
El Paso County 728,310 One of the 64 counties in the U.
Arapahoe County 657,452 County in Colorado, United States
Jefferson County 583,283 County in Colorado, United States
Adams County 519,883 County in Colorado, United States
Colorado Springs 482,131 County seat of El Paso County, Colorado, United States
Aurora 387,377 City in Kane County, Illinois, United States
Douglas County 360,750 County in Colorado, United States
Larimer County 360,428 County in Colorado, United States
Weld County 333,983 County in Colorado, United States
Boulder County 327,171 County in Colorado, United States
Pueblo County 169,823 County in Colorado, United States
Fort Collins 168,234 Municipality and county seat of Larimer County, Colorado, United States
Lakewood 157,429 City in Colorado
Mesa County 155,603 County in Colorado, United States