Sevier County, Arkansas

Sevier County: County in Arkansas, United States


Sevier County is a county located in the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 17,058 and a population density of 11 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 16,702 inhabitants. Its county seat is De Queen. The county was created 194 years ago in 1828.

Quick Facts about Sevier County

Population : 16,702 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Arkansas (United States)
Different from : Sevier County, Sevier County
Area : 1506 km2
Water as percent of area : 2.8%
Land as percent of area : 97.2%
Capital : De Queen
Establishment : October 10, 1828
Time Zone : America/Chicago
Local time : 09:22:35 (5th December 2022)
Density : 11 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -2.13% (2010-2020)
Sevier County locator map
Location of Sevier County on Arkansas map.
Sevier County  AR  Courthouse in DeQueen IMG 8550 image
Sevier County AR Courthouse in DeQueen IMG 8550
Sevier County  AR  Courthouse in DeQueen IMG 8550 image


Sevier County is located at 33°59'50"N 94°14'28"W (33.9972000, -94.2412200). It has 5 neighbors: Hempstead County, Howard County, Little River County, Polk County and McCurtain County.

Sevier County map

The largest city of Sevier County is De Queen with a population of 6,406. Other cities include, Horatio population 1,011, Lockesburg population 710 and Ben Lomond population 140. See all Sevier County cities & populated places.

Sevier County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Sevier County.

City Name Population Title
De Queen 6,406 City in Arkansas, USA
Horatio 1,011 City in Arkansas, USA
Lockesburg 710 Human settlement in Sevier County, Arkansas, United States of America
Gillham 155 Town in Arkansas, United States of America
Ben Lomond 140 Human settlement in United States of America

Sevier County has 5 neighbours.


According to census records, the population of Sevier County decreased by 2.13% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 17,058 - census
2011 17,218 0.93% estimation process
2012 17,188 -0.17% estimation process
2013 17,356 0.97% estimation process
2014 17,410 0.31% estimation process
2015 17,262 -0.86% estimation process
2016 16,971 -1.71% estimation process
2017 17,103 0.77% estimation process
2018 17,061 -0.25% estimation process
2019 17,007 -0.32% estimation process
2020 16,702 -1.83% estimation process

Comitatul Sevier, Comte de Sevier, Comté de Sevier, Condado de Sevier, Condado han Sevier, Contea di Sevier, Hrabstwo Sevier, Okrug Sevir, Quan Sevier, Quận Sevier, Sever, Sevi, Sevier, Sevier Comitatus, Sevier Kun, Sevier Kūn, Sevier konderria, Sevier megye, Sevieri srjan, Siviur, mqatʿt syfyyr, sai wei er xian, sebhiyara ka'unti, sebia jun, shhrstan swyr arkanzas, Округ Севир, Севи, Севєр, Сивиър, Սևիերի շրջան, سیویر کاؤنٹی، آرکنساس, شهرستان سویر، آرکانزاس, مقاطعة سيفيير, সেভিয়ার কাউন্টি, セビア郡, 塞維爾縣

People born in Sevier County (2)

People born in Sevier County, including mayor Louis Blaylock, politician Carl Hendrix, .


Other places with the same name (3)

Arkansas Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Pulaski County 392,980 County in Arkansas, United States
Benton County 288,774 County in Arkansas, United States
New Caledonia 287,800 Unincorporated community in Arkansas, United States
Washington County 243,216 County in Arkansas, United States
Little Rock 197,866 Capital and largest city of Arkansas
Sebastian County 127,590 County in Arkansas, United States
Faulkner County 126,919 County in Arkansas, United States
Saline County 123,968 County in Arkansas, United States
Craighead County 112,245 County in Arkansas, United States
Garland County 99,789 County in Arkansas, United States
Fayetteville 89,576 County seat of Washington County, Arkansas, United States
Fort Smith 87,764 City in Arkansas, USA
Springdale 81,115 City in Arkansas, United States
Jonesboro 79,859 County seat city in Craighead County, Arkansas, USA
White County 78,729 County in Arkansas, United States
Lonoke County 73,921 County in Arkansas, United States