New Mexico Counties

New Mexico, state of the United States of America. There are 33 county in New Mexico. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Bernalillo County
Bernalillo County

Bernalillo County, population 681,666

Doña Ana County
Doña Ana County

Doña Ana County, population 221,262

Santa Fe County
Santa Fe County

Santa Fe County, population 151,946

New Mexico contains 33 counties showcasing unique Southwestern culture, landscapes, and history. Here are some highlights:

Santa Fe County

Home to capital city Santa Fe, attractions include:

  • Santa Fe Plaza with historic adobe buildings, galleries, and restaurants
  • Loretto Chapel and its miraculous spiral staircase
  • Canyon Road filled with art galleries and studios

Bernalillo County

Centered on Albuquerque, the county offers:

  • Old Town with Native American art, shopping, and food
  • ABQ BioPark including an aquarium, zoo, and botanical garden
  • Petroglyph National Monument protecting ancient rock carvings

Taos County

In northern New Mexico, Taos County provides:

  • Taos Pueblo, a 1,000 year old living Native village and UNESCO site
  • Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, towering 650 feet above the Rio Grande
  • Quaint art galleries and shops in downtown Taos

Grant County

In the state's southwestern corner, Grant County contains:

  • Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument protecting Mogollon ruins
  • City of Rocks State Park with unique rock formations
  • Silver City, a former mining town turned artist community

New Mexico's diverse counties encompass rugged landscapes, Native heritage, art colonies, and more - making the state endlessly fascinating to explore.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Bernalillo County 681,666 Bernalillo County cities
Catron County 3,623 Catron County cities
Chaves County 64,711 Chaves County cities
Cibola County 26,354 Cibola County cities
Colfax County 11,927 Colfax County cities
Curry County 48,793 Curry County cities
De Baca County 1,673 De Baca County cities
Doña Ana County 221,262 Doña Ana County cities
Eddy County 58,418 Eddy County cities
Grant County 27,007 Grant County cities
Guadalupe County 4,275 Guadalupe County cities
Harding County 638 Harding County cities
Hidalgo County 4,106 Hidalgo County cities
Lea County 71,830 Lea County cities
Lincoln County 19,939 Lincoln County cities
Los Alamos County 19,462 Los Alamos County cities
Luna County 23,905 Luna County cities
McKinley County 70,824 McKinley County cities
Mora County 4,478 Mora County cities
Otero County 67,967 Otero County cities
Quay County 8,197 Quay County cities
Rio Arriba County 38,521 Rio Arriba County cities
Roosevelt County 18,350 Roosevelt County cities
San Juan County 123,312 San Juan County cities
San Miguel County 27,144 San Miguel County cities
Sandoval County 148,904 Sandoval County cities
Santa Fe County 151,946 Santa Fe County cities
Sierra County 10,867 Sierra County cities
Socorro County 16,541 Socorro County cities
Taos County 32,593 Taos County cities
Torrance County 15,486 Torrance County cities
Union County 4,026 Union County cities
Valencia County 77,574 Valencia County cities

Counties on Map (33)