Catron County , New Mexico

Catron County: County in New Mexico, United States


Catron County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Mexico. As of the 2010 census, the population was 3,725. After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 3,623 inhabitants. Its county seat is Reserve. The county was created 101 years ago in 1921.

Catron County Quick Facts

Population : 3,623 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : New Mexico (United States)
Area : 17946 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.08%
Land as percent of area : 99.92%
Named for : Thomas B. Catron
Altitude : 6,004 feet / 1830 meters
Capital : Reserve
Establishment : February 02, 1921
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 11:58:59 (29th September 2022)
Population growth : -2.82% (2010-2020)
Catron County locator map
Location of Catron County on New Mexico map.
Reserve NM - 1 image
Reserve NM - 1
Reserve NM - 1 image


Catron County is located at 33°54'55"N 108°24'17"W (33.9153300, -108.4047300). It has 6 neighbors: Greenlee County, Cibola County, Grant County, Sierra County, Socorro County and Apache County.

Catron County map

Catron County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Catron County.

City Name Population Title
Reserve 285 Village in New Mexico

Catron County has 6 neighbours.

  • Reserve


According to census records, the population of Catron County decreased by 2.82% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 3,725 - census
2011 3,716 -0.24% estimation process
2012 3,635 -2.23% estimation process
2013 3,586 -1.37% estimation process
2014 3,547 -1.1% estimation process
2015 3,476 -2.04% estimation process
2016 3,518 1.19% estimation process
2017 3,553 0.99% estimation process
2018 3,554 0.03% estimation process
2019 3,527 -0.77% estimation process
2020 3,623 2.65% estimation process

Catron, Catron Kun, Catron Kūn, Catron konderria, Catron megye, Catron okrug, Catroni maakond, Comitatul Catron, Comte de Catron, Comté de Catron, Condado de Catron, Condado han Catron, Contea di Catron, Hrabstwo Catron, Katron, Okrug Katron, Quan Catron, Quận Catron, ka te lun xian, katoron jun, kyatarana ka'unti, mqatʿt katrwn, shhrstan ktrwn nywmkzykw, Катрон, Округ Катрон, Քատրոն շրջան, شهرستان کترون، نیومکزیکو, مقاطعة كاترون, کیٹرن کاؤنٹی, کیٹرن کاؤنٹی، نیو میکسیکو, ক্যাটরন কাউন্টি, カトロン郡, 卡特倫縣

New Mexico Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Bernalillo County 681,666 County in New Mexico, United States
Albuquerque 562,540 Largest city in New Mexico; major city of the Albuquerque metropolitan area; part of CSA with state capital Santa Fe; county seat of Bernalillo County; 32nd largest city in the United States
Doña Ana County 221,262 County in New Mexico, United States
Santa Fe County 151,946 County in New Mexico, United States
Sandoval County 148,904 County in New Mexico, United States
San Juan County 123,312 County in southeastern Utah, United States
Las Cruces 105,096 City in and county seat of Doña Ana County, New Mexico, United States
Rio Rancho 99,885 City in New Mexico, United States
Santa Fe 84,996 County seat city in Santa Fe County, New Mexico, USA and New Mexico federated state capital city
Valencia County 77,574 County in New Mexico, United States
Lea County 71,830 County in New Mexico, United States
McKinley County 70,824 County in New Mexico, United States
Otero County 67,967 County in New Mexico, United States
Chaves County 64,711 County in New Mexico, United States
Eddy County 58,418 County in New Mexico, United States
Curry County 48,793 County in Oregon, United States