Crawford County, Arkansas

Crawford County: County in Arkansas, United States


Crawford County is a county located in the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 61,948 and a population density of 40 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 63,409 inhabitants. Its county seat is Van Buren. The county was created 202 years ago in 1820.

Quick Facts about Crawford County

Population : 63,409 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Arkansas (United States)
Different from : Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County, Crawford County
Area : 1565 km2
Water as percent of area : 1.8%
Land as percent of area : 98.2%
Named for : William H. Crawford
Capital : Van Buren
Establishment : October 10, 1820
Time Zone : America/Chicago
Local time : 03:35:33 (10th June 2023)
Density : 41 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 2.3% (2010-2020)
Crawford County locator map
Location of Crawford County on Arkansas map.
Crawford County Arkansas Courthouse image
Crawford County Arkansas Courthouse
Crawford County Arkansas Courthouse image


Crawford County is located at 35°35'20"N 94°14'35"W (35.5888300, -94.2431200). It has 6 neighbors: Franklin County, Madison County, Sebastian County, Washington County, Adair County and Sequoyah County.

Crawford County map

The largest city of Crawford County is Van Buren with a population of 23,812. Other cities include, Greenwood population 9,396, Alma population 5,887, Mulberry population 1,694 and Cedarville population 1,409. See all Crawford County cities & populated places.

Crawford County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Crawford County.

City Name Population Title
Van Buren 23,812 8th president of the United States (1782-1862)
Greenwood 9,396 City in Sebastian County, Arkansas, United States
Alma 5,887 City in Arkansas, USA
Mulberry 1,694 City in Crawford County, Kansasa.
Cedarville 1,409 City in Arkansas, USA
Kibler 1,028 Town in Crawford County, Arkansas, USA
Dyer 893 City in Arkansas, USA
Mountainburg 612 Township in Crawford County, Arkansas
Chester 159 City in Arkansas
Rudy 149 Human settlement in Crawford County, Arkansas, United States of America

Crawford County has 6 neighbours.

  • Van Buren


The population of Crawford County increased by 2.3% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 61,948 - census
2011 61,796 -0.25% estimation process
2012 61,911 0.19% estimation process
2013 61,667 -0.4% estimation process
2014 61,807 0.23% estimation process
2015 61,904 0.16% estimation process
2016 62,263 0.58% estimation process
2017 62,894 1% estimation process
2018 63,379 0.77% estimation process
2019 63,257 -0.19% estimation process
2020 63,409 0.24% estimation process

Comitatul Crawford, Comte de Crawford, Comté de Crawford, Condado de Crawford, Condado han Crawford, Contea di Crawford, Crawford, Crawford Comitatus, Crawford Kun, Crawford Kūn, Crawford konderria, Crawford megye, Hrabstwo Crawford, Kroford, Krouford, Okrug Kroford, Quan Crawford, Quận Crawford, ke lao fu de xian, kraphorda ka'unti, kuroufodo jun, mqatʿt krwfwrd, shhrstan krafwrd arkanzas, Кроуфорд, Крофорд, Округ Крофорд, Քրոֆորդի շրջան, شهرستان کرافورد، آرکانزاس, مقاطعة كروفورد, کرافورڈ کاؤنٹی، آرکنساس, کریٹنڈن کاؤنٹی, ক্রফোর্ড কাউন্টি, クロウフォード郡, 克勞福德縣

People born in Crawford County (1)

American lawman Bass Reeves was born in Crawford County

Other places with the same name (11)

Arkansas Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Pulaski County 392,980 County in Arkansas, United States
Benton County 288,774 County in Arkansas, United States
New Caledonia 287,800 Unincorporated community in Arkansas, United States
Washington County 243,216 County in Arkansas, United States
Little Rock 197,866 Capital and largest city of Arkansas
Sebastian County 127,590 County in Arkansas, United States
Faulkner County 126,919 County in Arkansas, United States
Saline County 123,968 County in Arkansas, United States
Craighead County 112,245 County in Arkansas, United States
Garland County 99,789 County in Arkansas, United States
Fayetteville 89,576 County seat of Washington County, Arkansas, United States
Fort Smith 87,764 City in Arkansas, USA
Springdale 81,115 City in Arkansas, United States
Jonesboro 79,859 County seat city in Craighead County, Arkansas, USA
White County 78,729 County in Arkansas, United States
Lonoke County 73,921 County in Arkansas, United States