Carroll County , Illinois

Carroll County: County in Illinois, United States

Carroll County locator map
Location of Carroll County on Illinois map.


Carroll County is a county located in the U.S. state of Illinois. As of the 2010 census, the population was 15,387 and a population density of 13 people per km². After 9 years in 2019 county had an estimated population of 14,305 inhabitants. Its county seat is Mount Carroll. The county was created 182 years ago in 1838.


Carroll County is located at 42°4'7"N 89°56'4"W (42.0686100, -89.9343300). It has 6 neighbors: Clinton County, Jackson County, Jo Daviess County, Ogle County, Stephenson County and Whiteside County.


The largest city of Carroll County is Blackhawk with a population of 9,650. Other cities include, Georgetown population 3,493, Mount Carroll population 2,102, Lanark population 1,333 and Milledgeville population 952. See all Carroll County cities & populated places.


Carroll County forecast: Sunny, with a high near 82. more


Carroll County map

Carroll County Quick Facts

Population : 14,305 (2019)
Country : United States of America
State : Illinois (United States)
Different from : Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County, Carroll County
Area : 1206 km2
Water as percent of area : 4.6%
Land as percent of area : 95.4%
Named for : Charles Carroll
Capital : Mount Carroll
Establishment : January 01, 1839
Time Zone : America/Chicago
Local time : 21:04:42 (4th August 2021)
Density : 12 Pop. per km² as of 2019
Population growth : -7.56% (2010-2019)
Weather : 82℉ Sunny 7-days weather

Carroll County has 6 neighbours.


According to census records, the population of Carroll County decreased by 7.56% in 9 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 15,387 - census
2011 15,229 -1.04% estimation process
2012 15,121 -0.71% estimation process
2013 14,969 -1.02% estimation process
2014 14,783 -1.26% estimation process
2015 14,642 -0.96% estimation process
2016 14,596 -0.32% estimation process
2017 14,475 -0.84% estimation process
2018 14,314 -1.12% estimation process
2019 14,305 -0.06% estimation process

Carroll, Carroll Comitatus, Carroll Kun, Carroll Kūn, Carroll konderria, Carroll megye, Comitatul Carroll, Comte de Carroll, Comté de Carroll, Condado de Carroll, Condado han Carroll, Contea di Carroll, Hrabstwo Carroll, Karroll, Kerroll, Kerul, Okrug Karol, Quan Carroll, Quận Carroll, ka luo er xian, kerola ka'unti, kyaroru jun, mqatʿt karwl, shhrstan krwl aylynwy, Карролл, Керролл, Керъл, Округ Карол, Քերոլ շրջան, شهرستان کرول، ایلینوی, مقاطعة كارول, کیرل کاؤنٹی، الینوۓ, کیرول کاؤنٹی، الینوائے, কেরোল কাউন্টি, キャロル郡, 卡洛爾縣

People born in Carroll County (2)

People born in Carroll County, including politician Willis J. Bailey, nurse Helen Scott Hay, you can see a list of people who born in Carroll County.

Other places with the same name (12)

Carroll County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Carroll County.

City Name Population Title
Blackhawk 9,650 Unincorporated community in Illinois
Georgetown 3,493
Savanna 2,797 Town in Illinois
Mount Carroll 2,102 City in Illinois
Lanark 1,333 City in Illinois, United States
Milledgeville 952 Human settlement in Carroll County, Illinois, USA
Shannon 688 Village in Carroll County, Illinois, USA
Thomson 551 Town in Illinois, USA
Chadwick 516 American settlement
Elkhorn Grove 217 Unincorporated community in Illinois

Illinois Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Illinois 12,671,821 State of the United States of America
Cook County 5,150,233 County in Illinois, United States
Chicago 2,693,976 City and county seat of Cook County, Illinois, United States
DuPage County 922,921 County in Illinois, United States
Lake County 696,535 County in Oregon, United States
Will County 690,743 County in Illinois, United States
Kane County 532,403 County in southern Utah, United States
Markham 328,966 City in Cook County, Illinois, United States
McHenry County 307,774 County in Illinois, United States
Winnebago County 282,572 County in Illinois, United States
Madison County 262,966 County in Montana, United States
Saint Clair County 259,686 The County of St.
Champaign County 209,689 County in Illinois, United States
Sangamon County 194,672 County in Illinois, United States
Peoria County 179,179 County in Illinois, United States of America
McLean County 171,517 County in North Dakota, United States

Next page