Watertown, South Dakota

Watertown: City in and county seat of Codington County, South Dakota, United States


Watertown is a city located in the county of Codington in the U.S. state of South Dakota. Its population at the 2010 census was 21,482 and a population density of 320 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 city had an estimated population of 22,303 inhabitants.

The city was created 145 years ago in 1878.

Watertown locator map
Location of Watertown on South Dakota map.

Quick Facts about Watertown

Population : 22,303 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : South Dakota (United States)
County : Codington County
Postal code : 57201
Phone Area Codes : 605
Area : 67.08 km2
Altitude : 1,732 feet / 528 meters
Capital city : Watertown is capital of Codington County
Establishment : January 01, 1879 (145 years ago)
Time Zone : UTC−06:00
Local time : 09:23:48 (3rd March 2024)
Density : 333 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 3.68% (2010-2020)
Redlin Art Center image
Redlin Art Center
Redlin Art Center image


Watertown is located at 44°53'58"N 97°6'54"W (44.8994100, -97.1150700).

Watertown map


The population of Watertown increased by 3.68% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 21,482 - census
2011 21,676 0.89% estimation process
2012 21,834 0.72% estimation process
2013 22,003 0.77% estimation process
2014 22,076 0.33% estimation process
2015 22,047 -0.13% estimation process
2016 22,169 0.55% estimation process
2017 22,246 0.35% estimation process
2018 22,180 -0.3% estimation process
2019 22,174 -0.03% estimation process
2020 22,303 0.58% estimation process

Watertown zip code is 57201. County name: Codington, County fips: 46029

ATY, Uotertaun, Votertaun, u~otataun, votarata'una, wo te dui, woteotaun, wtrtawn dakwtay jnwby, Вотертаун, Уотертаун, وترتاون، داکوتای جنوبی, वॉटरटाउन, ウォータータウン, 沃特敦, 워터타운

People born in Watertown (32)

People born in Watertown, including writer Spencer Johnson, Olympic wrestler Dennis Koslowski, chairman and chief executive officer of ExxonMobil Lee Raymond, .


  • Kristi Noem (American politician) she was born in 30/11/1971
  • John Hamre (American academic) he was born in 03/07/1950
  • Monte Cook (American writer & game designer) he was born in 29/01/1968
  • Bob Scholtz (American football player) he was born in 25/12/1937
  • Bruce Cordell (novelist and author of roleplaying games from the United States) he was born in 01/01/1968
  • Charles B. Kornmann (United States federal judge) he was born in 01/01/1937
  • George R. Mather (Recipient of the Purple Heart medal) he was born in 02/06/1911
  • Hope A. Olson (Information studies scholar) she was born in 01/01/1942
  • J. A. Jance (American writer) she was born in 27/10/1944
  • James Strombotne (American artist) he was born in 30/10/1934
  • Joseph Schull (Canadian historia) he was born in 06/02/1906
  • Marley G. Kelly (American politician, Wisconsin state senator) he was born in 04/05/1892
  • Mike Courey (American football player (1959-2007)) he was born in 11/08/1959
  • Nancy Turbak Berry (American politician) she was born in 17/09/1956
  • Robert J. Fox (American priest) he was born in 25/12/1927
  • Sylvia Bacon (American judge) she was born in 09/07/1931
  • Terry Redlin (American artist (1937-2016)) he was born in 11/07/1937
  • Timmy Williams (American comedian) he was born in 10/04/1981

Schools in Watertown

College & universities near Watertown, SD

Code Name City ZIP
219143 Lake Area Technical College Watertown (SD) 57201-0730

Post offices near Watertown

Post Office Name City ZIP
Watertown Post Office Watertown (SD) 57201

Other places with the same name (10)

Other cities in Codington County

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Codington County , SD.

City Name Population Title
Kranzburg 364 Township in Codington County, South Dakota
Kampeska 333 Township in Codington County, South Dakota
Rauville 293 Township in Codington County, South Dakota
South Shore 215 Town of the United States
Henry 100 Town in Coddington County, South Dakota, United States
Wallace 87 Town in South Dakota, United States of America
Waverly 62 Census-designated place in Codington County, South Dakota
Florence 18 Town in Codington County, South Dakota, United States

Distance to Other Cities

Watertown distances to largest South Dakota cities