Vermont Counties

Vermont, state of the United States of America. There are 14 county in Vermont. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Chittenden County
Chittenden County

Chittenden County, population 164,306

Washington County
Washington County

Washington County, population 58,328

Rutland County
Rutland County

Rutland County, population 57,764

Vermont is divided into 14 counties that govern the rural Green Mountain State. Here's an overview of Vermont's counties:

Chittenden County in northwestern Vermont is the state's most populous county and contains its largest city of Burlington along Lake Champlain.

Bennington County in the southwest contains historic Bennington and mixes small cities with mountains and farmland. Rutland County in the south central area also combines urban settlements with rural regions.

Northeastern Vermont borders New Hampshire and contains Essex, Orleans, and Caledonia counties which have small towns set among mountains, forests, rivers and streams. Popular ski resorts dot the landscape here.

The Central Vermont counties of Washington, Orange, and Windsor counties comprise a hilly, agricultural region with a few mid-sized cities and villages like Montpelier, the state capital, and Woodstock.

The Northeast Kingdom region along the Canadian border contains Vermont's most sparsely populated and remote counties - Franklin, Orleans, and Essex. Vast wilderness prevails here.

Vermont's smallest county geographically is Chittenden at just over 600 square miles while Essex County is the largest at around 1,800 square miles. However, population density is greatest in Chittenden and lowest in Essex.

Overall, Vermont's 14 rural counties all share in the state's unique culture and geography while providing local governance and services ranging from the Canadian border to the Massachusetts state line. The diverse counties reflect life in the Green Mountains.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Addison County 36,851 Addison County cities
Bennington County 35,338 Bennington County cities
Caledonia County 29,705 Caledonia County cities
Chittenden County 164,306 Chittenden County cities
Essex County 6,123 Essex County cities
Franklin County 49,685 Franklin County cities
Grand Isle County 7,169 Grand Isle County cities
Lamoille County 25,341 Lamoille County cities
Orange County 28,837 Orange County cities
Orleans County 26,897 Orleans County cities
Rutland County 57,764 Rutland County cities
Washington County 58,328 Washington County cities
Windham County 42,015 Windham County cities
Windsor County 54,988 Windsor County cities

Counties on Map (14)