Niobrara County, Wyoming

Niobrara County: County in Wyoming, United States


Niobrara County is a county located in the U.S. state of Wyoming. As of the 2010 census, the population was 2,484. After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 2,275 inhabitants. Its county seat is Lusk. The county was created 111 years ago in 1910.

Quick Facts about Niobrara County

Population : 2,275 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Wyoming (United States)
Area : 6806 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.07%
Land as percent of area : 99.93%
Named for : Niobrara River
Altitude : 4,426 feet / 1349 meters
Capital : Lusk
Establishment : January 01, 1911
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 02:38:45 (7th July 2022)
Population growth : -9.19% (2010-2020)
Niobrara County locator map
Location of Niobrara County on Wyoming map.
Stagecoach Museum Lusk WY image
Stagecoach Museum Lusk WY
Stagecoach Museum Lusk WY image


Niobrara County is located at 43°3'23"N 104°28'31"W (43.0565000, -104.4753800). It has 7 neighbors: Platte County, Sioux County, Custer County, Fall River County, Converse County, Goshen County and Weston County.

Niobrara County map

Niobrara County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Niobrara County.

City Name Population Title
Lusk 1,474 Town in Wyoming
Manville 83 Town of the United States
Van Tassell 17 Town of the United States

Niobrara County has 7 neighbours.

  • Lusk


According to census records, the population of Niobrara County decreased by 9.19% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 2,484 - census
2011 2,483 -0.04% estimation process
2012 2,478 -0.2% estimation process
2013 2,544 2.59% estimation process
2014 2,488 -2.25% estimation process
2015 2,496 0.32% estimation process
2016 2,468 -1.13% estimation process
2017 2,392 -3.18% estimation process
2018 2,400 0.33% estimation process
2019 2,356 -1.87% estimation process
2020 2,275 -3.56% estimation process

Comitatul Niobrara, Comtat de Niobrara, Comte de Niobrara, Comté de Niobrara, Condado de Niobrara, Condado han Niobrara, Contea di Niobrara, Hrabstwo Niobrara, Najobrara, Najobrehra, Niobrara, Niobrara Comitatus, Niobrara Kun, Niobrara Kūn, Niobrara konderria, Niobrara megye, Niobraran piirikunta, Okrug Najobrara, Quan Niobrara, Quận Niobrara, mqatʿt nywbrara, nai e bu la lei xian, ni'obrara ka'unti, nioburara jun, shhrstan nywbrara waywmyng, Найобрара, Найобрэра, Ниобрара, Округ Најобрара, شهرستان نیوبرارا، وایومینگ, مقاطعة نيوبرارا, نیوبرارا کاؤنٹی، وائیومنگ, নিওব্রারা কাউন্টি, ニオブララ郡, 奈厄布拉勒縣

People born in Niobrara County (1)

cooperative extension agent Alvin D. Kilmer was born in Niobrara County

Wyoming Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Laramie County 100,595 County in the southeastern corner of Wyoming, United States
Natrona County 80,815 County in Wyoming, United States
Cheyenne 64,742 Capital of Wyoming, United States and seat of Laramie County
Casper 58,498 City in and county seat of Natrona County, Wyoming, United States
Campbell County 46,676 County in northeastern Wyoming, United States
Sweetwater County 42,673 County in Wyoming, United States
Fremont County 39,317 County in western Wyoming, United States
Albany County 38,950 County in Wyoming, United States
Laramie 32,661 City in and county seat of Albany County, Wyoming, United States
Gillette 32,220 City in Campbell County, Wyoming, United States
Sheridan County 30,863 County in Wyoming, United States
Park County 29,331 County in Colorado, United States
Teton County 23,497 County in Wyoming, United States
Rock Springs 22,943 City in Sweetwater County, Wyoming, United States
Lincoln County 20,253 County in Wyoming, United States
Uinta County 20,215 County in Wyoming, United States