Massachusetts Counties

Massachusetts, state of the United States of America. There are 14 county in Massachusetts. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Middlesex County
Middlesex County

Middlesex County, population 1,609,379

Worcester County
Worcester County

Worcester County, population 829,212

Suffolk County
Suffolk County

Suffolk County, population 801,582

From the Berkshires to Cape Cod, Massachusetts' 14 counties showcase the state's colonial history, academic prominence, and natural beauty. Here are some highlights:

Suffolk County

Containing Boston, Suffolk County offers:

  • Freedom Trail walking tour covering sites like the Old North Church and Faneuil Hall
  • World-class museums including the Museum of Fine Arts and Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
  • Historic neighborhoods like Beacon Hill and Back Bay

Middlesex County

West of Boston, Middlesex County provides:

  • Prominent universities like Harvard and MIT in Cambridge
  • Minuteman National Historical Park commemorating the Revolutionary War
  • Shopping and dining in affluent suburbs like Lexington and Concord

Berkshire County

In western MA, Berkshire County contains:

  • Cultural attractions like Tanglewood Music Festival and Mass MoCA modern art museum
  • Hiking trails past waterfalls and through mountains in the Berkshires
  • Historic towns including Lenox, Stockbridge, and Great Barrington

Barnstable County

Covering Cape Cod, Barnstable County offers:

  • Lighthouses dotting the coastal landscape
  • Whale watching, beaches, and seafood along the shores
  • Quaint villages including Hyannis, Falmouth, and Provincetown

Massachusetts' compact size makes visiting multiple counties easy, each revealing more of the state's distinctive character.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Barnstable County 213,164 Barnstable County cities
Berkshire County 124,571 Berkshire County cities
Bristol County 566,765 Bristol County cities
Dukes County 17,461 Dukes County cities
Essex County 791,263 Essex County cities
Franklin County 70,267 Franklin County cities
Hampden County 463,986 Hampden County cities
Hampshire County 161,401 Hampshire County cities
Middlesex County 1,609,379 Middlesex County cities
Nantucket County 11,376 Nantucket County cities
Norfolk County 709,409 Norfolk County cities
Plymouth County 523,738 Plymouth County cities
Suffolk County 801,582 Suffolk County cities
Worcester County 829,212 Worcester County cities

Counties on Map (14)