Delaware Counties

Delaware, state of the United States of America. There are 3 county in Delaware. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

New Castle County
New Castle County

New Castle County, population 561,531

Sussex County
Sussex County

Sussex County, population 241,635

Kent County
Kent County

Kent County, population 183,643

New Castle County - The northernmost county, New Castle County is home to the state's largest city, Wilmington. Over 550,000 residents live in this densely populated county with concentrations of business, finance, healthcare, and manufacturing industries.

Kent County - Located in central Delaware along the Delaware Bay, Kent County mixes agricultural areas with urban centers like Dover, the state capital. Dover Air Force Base is also located in Kent County. Population is around 180,000 people.

Sussex County - Stretching across southern Delaware, Sussex County offers a beach resort atmosphere with popular coastal towns like Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach, and Bethany Beach. Agriculture and poultry processing are major industries.

Despite having just three counties, Delaware still shows immense regional differences between the urbanized northern county, the central county anchored by small cities and rural areas, and the southern, scenic coastal communities. The counties also showcase Delaware's role in early U.S. history as the first state to ratify the Constitution.

With so few counties, Delaware's local governments play an important role in maintaining community infrastructure and identity. Each county has its own county seat, councils, police forces, and parks departments serving residents.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Kent County 183,643 Kent County cities
New Castle County 561,531 New Castle County cities
Sussex County 241,635 Sussex County cities

Counties on Map (3)