Cities & Towns in Buchanan County, MO

Buchanan County, county in Virginia, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 86,530 inhabitants. The county was created 165 years ago in 1858. Its county seat is Grundy.

There are 0 city/town in Buchanan County, MO.

Buchanan County, Missouri is located in the northwest portion of the state, along the Missouri River. The county was organized in 1838 and named after James Buchanan, the 15th President of the United States. Buchanan County has a long history and is home to several small cities and towns. Here is an overview of some of the notable cities and towns in Buchanan County:

St. Joseph

St. Joseph is the largest city in Buchanan County and serves as the county seat. Founded in 1843, St. Joseph played an important role in westward expansion as a supply point for wagon trains heading west on the Oregon, California and Santa Fe trails. In its early days, St. Joseph was nicknamed the "Gateway to the West." Today, it has a population of around 76,000 residents. St. Joseph is home to Missouri Western State University as well as the Patee House Museum, the Pony Express Museum and other historical attractions. The St. Joseph Stockyards, once one of the largest livestock markets in the country, operated in the city from 1873 to 1999.


Dearborn is a small city located along the Missouri River, about 15 miles northeast of St. Joseph. It was established in the 1850s and named after Henry Dearborn, a general during the War of 1812. Dearborn is probably best known for being the site of the Benedictine Convent of Perpetual Adoration, whose chapel has operated 24 hours a day since 1878. The population of Dearborn is around 500 residents.


Agency is situated just north of St. Joseph along the Missouri River. It was platted in 1857 and named after the Indian agencies once located there. Agency had the distinction of being the site of the last public hanging in Buchanan County in 1898. Today, Agency is a small unincorporated town with a population of around 600.


Rushville is a small town located south of St. Joseph near the center of Buchanan County. It was laid out in the late 1840s and named after Dr. Richard Rush, who provided the land it was built on. Rushville played a role in the Civil War when a skirmish was fought there in 1864. The town today has a population of around 300 residents.


Dekalb lies along the eastern border of Buchanan County, about 20 miles northeast of St. Joseph. It was founded in the 1840s by settlers from Dekalb County, Tennessee. Dekalb is another small unincorporated town, with a population just over 200 residents. The Dekalb Fish Hatchery and Lake, built in the 1930s, is located just east of town.

In summary, while St. Joseph dominates as the population center, Buchanan County, Missouri is dotted with several smaller historic cities and towns, each with its own unique story and identity. The county has played an important role throughout Missouri's history as part of the nation's westward expansion.

All Buchanan County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Buchanan County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population

County Cities on Map (0)

Missouri Counties (114)

Saint Louis County (994,020) Jackson County (705,925) Saint Charles County (406,204) Greene County (294,997) Clay County (253,463) Jefferson County (226,543) Boone County (182,991) Jasper County (121,648) Cass County (106,806) Platte County (106,532) Franklin County (104,469) Christian County (90,655) Buchanan County (86,530) Cape Girardeau County (79,512) Cole County (76,191) Saint Francois County (66,485) Lincoln County (60,119) Newton County (58,451) Taney County (56,104) Johnson County (54,219) Pulaski County (52,709) Camden County (46,414) Callaway County (44,887) Phelps County (44,414) Pettis County (42,490) Butler County (42,178) Howell County (40,262) Webster County (39,859) Scott County (38,288) Lawrence County (38,175) Warren County (36,594) Laclede County (35,895) Barry County (35,818) Lafayette County (33,006) Polk County (32,490) Stone County (32,465) Stoddard County (29,001) Dunklin County (28,878) Marion County (28,423) Miller County (25,791) Adair County (25,399) Texas County (25,112) Audrain County (24,835) Washington County (24,604) Randolph County (24,409) Crawford County (23,739) Ray County (22,915) McDonald County (22,900) Saline County (22,858) Henry County (22,076) Nodaway County (21,743) Morgan County (20,716) Clinton County (20,553) Vernon County (20,388) Benton County (19,627) Perry County (19,194) Wright County (18,325) Sainte Genevieve County (17,919) Andrew County (17,586) Pike County (17,552) Dallas County (17,219) Cooper County (17,102) New Madrid County (16,693) Bates County (16,242) Pemiscot County (15,600) Moniteau County (15,585) Dent County (15,481) Macon County (15,095) Gasconade County (14,566) Livingston County (14,413) Cedar County (14,322) Osage County (13,535) Douglas County (13,344) Ripley County (13,300) Wayne County (12,769) Mississippi County (12,691) Madison County (12,113) Bollinger County (12,111) Linn County (11,830) Barton County (11,592) Montgomery County (11,294) DeKalb County (10,944) Oregon County (10,411) Ralls County (10,299) Iron County (10,098) Howard County (10,001) Lewis County (9,810) Saint Clair County (9,689) Grundy County (9,595) Hickory County (9,586) Ozark County (9,083) Caldwell County (9,051) Maries County (8,795) Monroe County (8,672) Carroll County (8,554) Harrison County (8,321) Daviess County (8,283) Shannon County (8,203) Dade County (7,568) Chariton County (7,360) Clark County (6,830) Gentry County (6,484) Reynolds County (6,198) Sullivan County (6,033) Carter County (5,991) Shelby County (5,919) Atchison County (5,096) Scotland County (4,871) Putnam County (4,688) Schuyler County (4,534) Holt County (4,232) Knox County (3,940) Mercer County (3,558) Worth County (1,953)