Maine Counties

Maine, state of the United States of America. There are 16 county in Maine. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Cumberland County
Cumberland County

Cumberland County, population 298,111

York County
York County

York County, population 209,066

Penobscot County
Penobscot County

Penobscot County, population 151,655

With diverse coastal regions, forests, and small towns, Maine's 16 counties offer many gems to uncover. Here are some highlights:

Cumberland County

Home to Portland, Cumberland offers:

  • The scenic Old Port waterfront area with shops, restaurants, and galleries
  • Portland Head Light, the iconic and most photographed lighthouse in Maine
  • Hiking and mountain vistas in Bradbury Mountain State Park

Hancock County

On the coast, Hancock County provides:

  • Acadia National Park with granite peaks, woodland trails, and rugged coastline
  • Picturesque harbor towns like Bar Harbor and Northeast Harbor
  • Bass Harbor Head Light perched on craggy ocean cliffs

Oxford County

In western Maine, Oxford County contains:

  • Swimming, boating, and fishing on Rangeley Lake
  • Skiing and snowboarding at Sunday River Resort
  • Trail riding on horseback at Black Mountain of Maine

Aroostook County

In northernmost Maine, Aroostook offers:

  • Miles of potato farmlands that earn it the nickname "The County"
  • Winter sports at Big Rock Ski Area near Mars Hill
  • The northern terminus of the Appalachian Trail at Mount Katahdin

From lobster shacks to mountain peaks, exploring Maine's beautiful counties reveals the best of Vacationland.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Androscoggin County 108,547 Androscoggin County cities
Aroostook County 66,804 Aroostook County cities
Cumberland County 298,111 Cumberland County cities
Franklin County 29,986 Franklin County cities
Hancock County 55,088 Hancock County cities
Kennebec County 122,955 Kennebec County cities
Knox County 39,951 Knox County cities
Lincoln County 34,775 Lincoln County cities
Oxford County 58,132 Oxford County cities
Penobscot County 151,655 Penobscot County cities
Piscataquis County 16,996 Piscataquis County cities
Sagadahoc County 36,044 Sagadahoc County cities
Somerset County 50,635 Somerset County cities
Waldo County 39,923 Waldo County cities
Washington County 31,473 Washington County cities
York County 209,066 York County cities

Counties on Map (16)