Hawaii Counties

Hawaii, state of the United States of America, located on an archipelago in the Pacific Ocean. There are 5 county in Hawaii. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Honolulu County
Honolulu County

Honolulu County, population 963,826

Hawaii County
Hawaii County

Hawaii County, population 203,340

Maui County
Maui County

Maui County, population 167,902

As the 50th state, Hawaii has a unique history and geography that has shaped its five counties. Here is an overview:

Honolulu County - Located on the island of Oahu, Honolulu County is home to the capital and largest city, Honolulu. With over 1 million residents, it is the most populous county in Hawaii. Tourism and military installations drive the economy.

Hawaii County - Covering the Big Island, Hawaii County offers a mix of black sand beaches, lush rainforests, and volcanoes. Hilo is the largest city, while Kailua-Kona is a popular tourist destination. Agriculture and astronomy are also important.

Maui County - Consisting of four islands, Maui County includes the famous vacation spots of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe. Tourism dominates, but agriculture including pineapple and coffee cultivation thrives.

Kauai County - On the scenic "Garden Isle," Kauai County is loved for its magnificent natural beauty. Lihue is the largest town, while the Waimea Canyon and Na Pali Coast attract outdoor adventurers.

Kalawao County - Established for the isolated Kalaupapa leper colony, Kalawao County on the island of Molokai today has around 100 residents. It relies on state and federal funds due to its small size and population.

From bustling Oahu to rural Molokai, Hawaii's counties encompass island paradises, volcanoes, plantation history, and native Hawaiian heritage unlike anywhere else in the United States.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Hawaii County 203,340 Hawaii County cities
Honolulu County 963,826 Honolulu County cities
Kalawao County 87 Kalawao County cities
Kauai County 71,851 Kauai County cities
Maui County 167,902 Maui County cities

Counties on Map (5)