Rhode Island Counties

Rhode Island, state on east coast of United States of America. There are 5 county in Rhode Island. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Providence County
Providence County

Providence County, population 636,547

Kent County
Kent County

Kent County, population 164,646

Washington County
Washington County

Washington County, population 125,746

Rhode Island is the smallest state in the US, but it is divided into 5 counties. Here is an overview of each:

Providence County

  • This county encompasses the capital and most populous city of Providence.
  • Providence County is home to prestigious academic institutions like Brown University and the Rhode Island School of Design.
  • Cultural attractions include WaterFire Providence, the Providence Athenaeum, and Roger Williams Park.

Kent County

  • Centered around the city of Warwick, this is the second most populous county in Rhode Island.
  • Kent County is home to quaint waterfront towns like East Greenwich and Narragansett.
  • Popular destinations include the Newport Vineyards and the historic roadside attraction Seven Mile Bridge.

Washington County

  • Named after the first US President George Washington, this rural county contains rolling hills and coastal villages.
  • Watch Hill, with its Flying Horse Carousel, is a popular summer resort area.
  • The county also contains part of Block Island, located off the southern coast.

Bristol County

  • This small county sits across the bay from Newport.
  • Bristol is known as the “Most Patriotic Small Town in America” and hosts an annual Fourth of July celebration.
  • Colt State Park offers hiking and beaches along the coast.

Newport County

  • Newport County encompasses famous summer retreat Newport, renowned for its Gilded Age mansions.
  • Attractions include the Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame, and iconic landmarks like the Breakers Mansion.
  • The city of Jamestown, set on Conanicut Island, is also part of this county.

Though small in size, Rhode Island’s counties are filled with history, culture, and natural scenery. The distinctive regions and attractions make the state well worth exploring.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Bristol County 48,350 Bristol County cities
Kent County 164,646 Kent County cities
Newport County 81,836 Newport County cities
Providence County 636,547 Providence County cities
Washington County 125,746 Washington County cities

Counties on Map (5)